The Promise

Don’t ever let me grow old

Don’t let me wrinkle and fade like petals

Don’t let our friendship be a story foretold

Written, forgotten, and sealed like letters.

.

Don’t let me die in my sleep

Don’t let me drift into the delicate death

Don’t let me go into the forest deep

Waiting for the last heartbeat, the last breath.

.

Let me die doing something amazing

Like fighting for another love, another us

But keep a spare match box when the fire’s not blazing

Let’s engrave a mark before we leave, without a fuss

.

Don’t leave me, promise you’ll never go

You know how tight I’m holding onto you

Till the ends and corners with you I will plough

Without you I’m like wasted paper, torn from glue

.

I loved that orange turtleneck I used to wear,

With a dungaree denim dress over the top

I had a small button nose back then,

Ah how much would I do to rewind and swap!

.

Don’t grow up yet, please wait for me to age,

Don’t break the sealed books don’t open the maps

It’s not a closed chapter, just a different page

Shall we take a year out exploring time gaps?

.

I don’t want to be one of those people you accidentally remember

A stranger from a distant better past,

Don’t lie to me saying that was our last September,

We both know me and you cannot be surpassed…

.

With one glance, and stare across the room,

I drown, entranced into that soul of gloom

It’s you who made me doubt an objective forever,

The universe beyond the green shield; my eternal endeavour.

Leave a Reply

