Submarine

Combining some quotes from the last chapter of Submarine by Joe Dunthorne (one of the best books and films ever) with some simple rhymes- writing can really be the cure for anything!

The sun dissolving against the horizon like aspirin,

but I do not believe in scenery, you’re still my medicine.

A bright white path on the surface of the water,

ineffably intimidating eyes, make me stutter.

I feel a bit sick at the vastness of the ocean,

how easy is it to drown suppressed emotion?

and none of this will matter when you’re 43,

so grab my hand, hold your breath and jump with me.

Did you know that the ocean is 6 miles deep?

Now close your heavy eyelids, and go to sleep.

Leave a Reply

